January 27, 2021

  • Daily Motion

Govt sanctioned 178 EV charging stations to Telangana Hyd facing land issues

EV charging stations to Telangana

Govt sanctioned 178 EV charging stations to Telangana Hyd facing land issues

Recently, the Union Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises had finally approved 178 Electric Vehicle charging stations for Telangana under the two phases of the Faster Adoption and Manufacturing of Hybrid & Electric Vehicles (FAME-India) Scheme which aims at giving a big boost to electric vehicles in public transport.

EV charging stations to Telangana

The Telangana State Renewable Energy Development Corporation Limited (TSREDCO) will be the nodal agency for the establishment of these charging stations. The identification of land in Greater Hyderabad to set up the charging stations has emerged as a major challenge. The TSREDCO is on the hunt for land which belongs to various government departments in and around Greater Hyderabad as the purchase of the private land will cost them more.

EV charging stations sanctioned & established under FAME India

For installation of small charging stations at least 200 square yards of land is required. However the count of the electric vehicles in Telangana is less, the Union heavy industry ministry has approved 178 EV charging stations under FAME II.

The TSREDCO project Director of electric vehicles D V Ramakrishna Kumar said that ” people will buy electric vehicles only when they have easy access to EV charging stations as is the case with petrol and diesel vehicles. In this case, the Union government is first creating recharging infrastructure to boost the confidence of the buyers to opt for electric vehicles.”

Electric vehicles news this month

The Greater Hyderabad will get 158 charging stations installed and 10 each will be in Karimnagar and Warangal under the FAME II. 

“While the ministry has approved 118 stations for Urban Local Bodies under the Hyderabad capital region, 10 charging stations will be established in Warangal and another 10 in Karimnagar under FAME 2. All the 138 stations will be established and managed by three public sector units, National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC), Rajasthan Electronics & Instruments Limited (REIL) and Energy Efficiency Services Ltd (EESL),” D V Ramakrishna Kumar. 

The Centre also approved another 40 EV stations under FAME-1 which will come up in Hyderabad taking the total number of EV charging stations in the State capital to 158. The NTPC will be establishing 32 stations, REIL has been given 37 and EESL 49. REIL will be managing all the 20 units in Warangal and Karimnagar.

If you are an EV manufacturer or EV Dealer or EV Supporter who want to share news related to electric vehicles on our website, please send an email to [email protected]

For the latest electric vehicles news, follow electricvehicles.in on TwitterInstagram,Facebook and subscribe to our YouTube Channels EnglishHindiTelugu and Kannada

About The Author

Mastered my Journalism and entered into writing for Electric vehicles sector. I am a regular writer and EV enthusiast. I love to write about electric vehicles, technology, startups, people, fashion and trends. My aim is to make India pollution-free by sharing knowledge through my writings.

Related posts

1 Comment

Comments are closed.