April 20, 2024

  • Daily Motion

Finance Ministry, Government Of India Sign Up 15 Mahindra e-Verito Electric vehicles, Opens 28 Charging Points

Government Of India Electric vehicles

Finance Ministry, Govt of India sign up 15 Mahindra e-Verito Electric vehicles (EVs)

The Department of Economic Affairs, Ministry of Finance, Government of India has signed an agreement with Energy Efficiency Services Limited (EESL) for the deployment of 15 electric vehicles for their officers.

Opens 28 Charging Points At North Block For EVs

These EVs need to be charged so they have also opened 28 charging points that include 24 Slow charging points and 4 Fast Charging Points in the North Block. The 15 Electric cars are from Mahindra and Tata company- Mahindra eVeritos and Tata Tigor. The EESL will distribute the cars.  Arun Jaitley, Finance Minister flagged off the EVS at North Block.

These Electric Vehicles saves over 36,000 liters of fuel every year

With this step, the Department of Economic Affairs will save over 36,000 liters of fuel every year and also there will be a reduction of CO2 of about over 440 tonnes annually.

Government’s 5,00,000 internal combustion engine (ICE) cars convert to Electric by EESL

The EESL will also convert 5,00,000 internal combustion engine (ICE) cars of Government with electric components making it an electric car. EESL has also opened charging infrastructure all over the states where the EVs are deployed.

Union Minister of Finance and Corporate Affairs, Arun Jaitley says

The Union Minister of Finance and Corporate Affairs, Arun Jaitley said, “Electric mobility, is an attractive, sustainable and profitable solution to mitigate the climate change and to reduce the risk posed by vehicular emission to public health. EVs have the potential to support India’s growth by enhancing manufacturing, job creation, and technical capabilities. We are glad to be a part of India’s mission of rapid adoption of e-mobility.”

The agreement signing ceremony

The agreement signing ceremony was held in the presence of Arun Jaitley, Minister of Finance and Corporate Affairs, R.K. Singh, Minister of State (IC) Power and New & Renewable Energy, Ajay Bhushan Pandey, Secretary, Department of Revenue, Ajay Narayan Jha, Finance Secretary & Secretary (Expenditure), Subhash Chandra Garg, Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs; and Ajay Bhalla, Secretary, Ministry of Power.

Agreements and MoUs have been signed with Central and State Government departments

The Memorandum was sent by the Department of Expenditure to all the Government offices in Delhi NCR to use EVs. Central Government departments have shown the interest in EVs, So far Agreements and MoUs have been signed with Central and State Government departments in Delhi, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Andaman & Nicobar Administration and Telangana.

The Government taking a step in making the environment safe by using less fuel which not only contributes to safeguarding the environment but also it helps in saving some amount of fuel. The installation of charging stations at various points in the states encourages the EV consumers and makers to build the EVs with more high range and battery capacity.


About The Author

Mastered in Journalism and I am a dedicated writer for ElectricVehicles.in since 2018. I am an EV enthusiast. I love to write about electric vehicles, technology, startups, people, fashion, and trends. Through my writings, I love to contribute to my team's efforts to reduce the pollution levels in the world, especially from India.

Related posts